James Gleick wins the 2011-12 Hessell-Tiltman Prize for History

The Hessell-Tiltman Prize for History has been awarded to The Information by James Gleick (published by Fourth Estate). The book was described by the judges as ‘bold and arresting’.

The £3,000 prize is awarded annually by the writers’ charity English PEN for a work of popular history. This year’s judges were Bryan Ward-Perkins (chair), Amanda Foreman and Caroline Moorehead.

The Judging Committee said: ‘The judges were overwhelmed by the excellence of the books submitted for this year’s Hessell-Tiltman History Prize. But in James Gleick’s book, The Information, we found something quite remarkable and were struck again and again by the way that his book stayed in the mind.’

Check out the PEN website for more

Leave a comment

Filed under Readers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s